Road Service

Protecting Animals and Resolving Conflicts in Order to Promote Harmony

Every action our patrol officers take has but one goal: to promote harmony between animals and humans who share a common territory. It is with this in mind that patrol officers respond to calls from citizens. The purpose of their road presence is to rescue animals in distress, increase awareness in the population regarding various issues, resolve neighbourhood conflicts and encourage tolerance in all of its form.

The Road Service includes:

  • An inspection service that receives and verifies complaints regarding animal abuse and inquires about laws and procedures in order to carry out seizures when necessary. We make it our duty to get involved in various interventions dealing with cruelty towards animals; 
  • Receiving, registering and treating each and every request made by the authorities (police) or citizens regarding either a stray or an animal considered a nuisance as defined by the municipal bylaw. Moreover, the ambulance-patrol officer is authorized to collect abandoned or stray animals.
  • An animal control service that responds to urgent calls, rescues stray animals on the road, carries out regular road patrols, issues offence notices or statements of offence in negligence or cruelty cases, and responds to cases of animal mistreatment;
  • An emergency service available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by calling the police. Outside SPA business hours, the police services contact the SPA road patrol officer on duty, if required.

Service routier

Protéger les animaux et régler les conflits afin de favoriser l'harmonie

Tous les gestes posés par nos patrouilleurs ne poursuivent qu'un seul et unique but : favoriser l'harmonie entre les animaux et les humains qui partagent le même territoire. C'est dans cette perspective qu'ils répondent aux appels des citoyens. Leurs nombreux déplacements servent à recueillir des animaux en détresse, à sensibiliser la population sur différents sujets, à régler des conflits de voisinage et à préconiser la tolérance, sous toutes ses formes.

Le service routier comprend :

  • un service d'inspection pour recevoir et vérifier les plaintes concernant les animaux maltraités ainsi que pour s'informer des lois et des procédures afin d'effectuer des saisies lorsque la situation l'exige. Nous nous faisons un devoir de nous impliquer dans différentes interventions relatives à la cruauté envers les animaux;
  • la réception, l'enregistrement et le traitement de toute demande du service de police ou des citoyens concernant un animal errant ou constituant une nuisance au sens du règlement municipal. Le patrouilleur-ambulancier est autorisé, de plus, à cueillir les animaux errants ou abandonnés;
  • un service de contrôle des animaux pour répondre aux appels d'urgence, cueillir les animaux errants sur la route, effectuer des patrouilles routières régulières, assigner des avis ou des constats d'infraction dans des cas de nuisance ou de cruauté et répondre aux cas d'animaux maltraités;
  • un service d'urgence 24 heures par jour et 7 jours par semaine, sur appel du service de police. En dehors des heures d'ouverture de la SPA de l'Estrie, ce sont eux qui nous contactent au besoin.